jukebox jive (c) la brown girl
03.03.05 // 12:22 a.m.

I live in Los Angeles. Nine days out of ten, even in the middle of summer, I have no reason to complain about the weather. So, I rarely get into funks which can be attributed to something completely out of my control. (Most of the times my funks are self inflicted.) Still, the rainy weather and long list of things to do have me feeling like I need a pick-me-up. Buying a plane ticket to some far off land is tempting, but not a good idea. Shopping for new shoes or more music is out of the question, but I welcome gifts.

I guess I'll just have to look at old pictures from my travels, admire the shoes I own, and listen to my favorite songs. If I was at a bar or diner I'd choose the following songs, based on my mood. La Brown Girl chose 22 songs, so I'm going to do the same as well.

If I want to dance or get my energy up:

"Las Flores" by Caf� Tacuba
This is my favorite song ever. If you find me spinning in the middle of the bar, diner, or pool hall singing at the top of my lungs, just let me be.

"Me Vale" by Man�
My cousin Ren� and I tend to dance like a couple of lunatics whenever the DJ plays "Me Vale." On another note, this one always reminds me of one of my best friends, Chispa. We confided in each other that we wished the opinions of others didn't hold so much value. If only we could take the lyrics of "Me Vale" literally.

"Guavaberry" by Juan Luis Guerra y 4:40
My sister and I go crazy every time we hear "Guavaberry." We even have our dance choreographed (sorta).

"Chang�" by Ozomatli
I was born in the year of the monkey, I have a strange affinity for monkeys and I want the symbol for Ozomatli (not the band) tattooed on me. Oh yeah, I think is the best song ever that could also double as an ode to hairy and less-than-handsome men.

"La Bamba" by Ritchie Valens or the cover by Los Lobos
Hey, I'm Mexican, I have to represent. Is it wrong if I like the Los Lobos version more?

"Let's Go Crazy" by Prince and the Revolution
Need I say more? Wait, I will. I developed a much stronger love for Prince when I dated the Redhead. He loved all things Prince related and it rubbed off. So, anytime I hear any song by Prince I'm reminded of that relationship. It's nice.

If I wanted a more romantic atmosphere:

"Samba Pa T�" by Santana
I am enamored with this instrumental tune. Someday, I hope to make a baby while "Samba Pa T�" plays in the background.

"I Don't Care" by King Chang�
If I'm singing along to this and I happen to be directing the lyrics to you, take it as a good sign.

"Just Like Heaven" by the Cure
There was a time when all I would listen to was the Cure. A friend of mine swore that if you listened to Disintegration three times in a row, you'd commit suicide. The Cure has it's depressing songs, but there are also the more optimistic and romantic ones. Of those, "Just Like Heaven" is my favorite, even if it is a little sad.

"Make You Feel That Way" by Blackalicious
Part of the reason I don't consider myself much of a hip hop head anymore is that I prefer Blackalicious and their "positive hip hop" to the party music and mysogynistic lyrics rampant in mainstream hip hop. Gift of Gab has a way of describing those universal things that "make you feel that way."

"Eres" by Caf� Tacuba
I don't know if I will ever be able to see someone the way Meme describes in "Eres." I can only hope. Perhaps falling in love isn't all bad.

"I Never" by Rilo Kiley
If I had a really great voice, I'd sing this in a karaoke bar. I'd be hella melodramatic too, just like the song.

"Take Off Your Cool" by Andre 3000 and Norah Jones
In 2003 when Outkast's latest effort, Speakerboxxx/The Love Below was released, all the radio stations played was "Hey Ya!" I liked that song, got sick of it, and now kind of miss it. Still, whenever I listened to the CD, I always skipped to the end just to hear this understated and supershort track.

"Tsunami" by Res
Quiet optimism for a troubled relationship. The title might make some people a little nervous these days, but it's still worth a listen.

"Flying High" by Jem
This is perhaps the best song I've ever heard about someone you just can't have, but really want. I know how that feels, and have gone from the soaring feeling of being right next to him and staring into his eyes to feeling totally crushed when I leave his place. It's that time when I'm alone that I realize our relationship will never be more than just a friendship. How injust.

"Hay Unos Ojos" by Linda Ronstadt
Perhaps this isn't this best interpretation of the song, but it's the one I remember most from my youth. I remember being a little annoyed that a friend of mine sang "Hay Unos Ojos" to her husband during her wedding ceremony. That was my plan, dammit. This is another one of those I'd sing at a karaoke bar... well, if I was drunk enough.

Other songs that simply make me happy or reflective:

"Oleada" by Julieta Venegas
When I was convinced that I would be leaving Los Angeles to attend graduate school somewhere else (read: Cambridge, Ann Arbor or NYC) I played "Oleada" a couple of times a day and sang along with la Se�orita Venegas. "Oleada" reminds me of that sense of understanding that comes to you after a lot of struggling with the waves. Perhaps you just need to recognize that you can't control everything.

"Everyday is Like Sunday" by Morrissey
Most Morrissey and Smiths songs make me really happy. I know that's odd since they tend to be pretty damn depressing. I love Morrissey because his music reminds me of my best friends. They make me think of the first time I met Pato (she was wearing a Smiths t-shirt), inside jokes with Chispa, and '80s night at local clubs.

"Mediod�a" by Caf� Tacuba
In September 2003, I took off to San Francisco for a 24-hour whirlwind trip to see Caf� Tacuba perform at the Fillmore. I went to the show with Vane but spend some time with Chispa who had just moved to SF for law school. She let me hang out in her studio apartment on the 13th floor of an old hotel that had been converted to house students. Anyway, while she was in class, I relaxed in her room and stared out the window towards the Bay Bridge, SBC Park, and downtown. That day was the first time I had ever been in SF alone, and it was disconcerting. As I sat at the window and listened to the noise below I thought of "Mediod�a." It seemed so odd to me that I could be in such a busy city with so much going on and still feel incredibly lonely.

"Sir Duke" by Stevie Wonder
The first song I heard at the stroke of midnight on January 1, 2003 and January 1, 2004 was "Sir Duke." I happened to be with the same group of friends, and they exclaimed that a year that started off with one of Stevie Wonder's best songs could only mean good things. They were right. "Sir Duke" also reminds me of my days with the UCLA band.

"Wish I Didn't Miss You" by Angie Stone
Excellent song. Don't know what else to say, except that I've wished really hard that I didn't miss someone anymore. Ms. Stone just expresses it so much better.

That's it. I've been trying to get this done for over a week now, but it's hard to narrow down musical choices.

Comments: 4 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: musical
Escuchando: "the next movement" by the roots

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star