february haikus
03.04.05 // 12:18 a.m.

I think this is the only goal for 2004 that I've actually been sticking to.

2.01
Mighty mango juice
Is akin to junkie's crack
I am addicted

Raza grad students met
I felt alienated
Don't think I'll go back

Four men I don't like
Speak of ching�n politics
And militancy

2.02
Higher ed system
Replete with diversity
And lots of sameness

2.03
I run off to lunch
With Chicano Ed student
Had Oaxacan food

He asked about me,
My family, background, goals
He got to know me

I'm tired of non-dates
Spending time alone with crush
Nothing comes of it

2.04
Tandoori chicken,
Benny and Joon DVD,
Amaretto sour

2.05
Courses in English
For several jornaleros
Students serve workers

Two dozen split up
In three ability groups
And learn some English

2.06
I cheer for Philly
Only because of Freddie
Who was a Bruin

2.07
He searched on Google
Under my government name
I feared what he'd find

I hate mixed signals
And smart boys who lead you on
It just isn't right

2.08
Struggle with stats quiz
Working out calculations
And making judgments

2.09
Ashes signify
That we are, indeed, sinful
Or that we're Catholic

Spiritual journey
Begins, wll last forty days
And then it's Easter

2.10
No child is empty
Experience informs knowledge
Teachers build on that

2.11
It made me nervous
To know that he'd found my blog
Through a Google search

2.12
Slap, grab, squeeze and pull
Technique for bringing a man
To his knees in pain

2.13
Adrian's tooth was chipped
By Robbie's imbecile bro
He was really mad

Dental insurance
Necessary to repair
Adrian's chipped front tooth

2.14
I hate your strong gaze
Substitution for contact
Since that's what we lack

D�a del amor
Y tambi�n la amistad
Lo celebramos

2.15
I feel better now
We got a resolution
Things are cool. I hope.

2.16
Feeling quite scattered
Forgot keys, had to take bus
Arrived late to class

2.17
I'm an adoptee
Of Urban Schooling chort
I fit in better

2.18
I might be confused
It's not an el ni�o year
But it keeps raining

2.19
Took a Compton tour
First time in that area
Felt a little scared

2.20
Los aguaceros
Volvieron a mi ciudad
Estamos listos

2.21
Wal-Mart parking lot
Man grabs her purse, keys, and phone
She struggled but lost

2.22
I barely studied
For the second quiz in class
I'll do fine, I think

2.23
Test anxiety
Begins months before the DAP
Their advice? Just chill.

2.24*
Machista t-shirt
Ignores the role of women
Throughout history

El catr�n habla,
Y la dama escucha
Varios consejos

2.25
Indian food and pool
With bio-freaks and lab rats
It's good to get out

2.26
Question game goes far
All details are uncovered
Truth is a good thing

2.27
I need, want closure
A year is more than enough
Please, just shut the door

2.28
Michigan spring break
Allows Nahui to come home,
Enjoy nice weather

* 2.24 haiku inspired by Catr�n and D.

See January haikus here.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: sluggish
Escuchando: "chico groove" by gustavo santoalalla

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star