Indefinite plans
02.25.02 // 7:17 p.m.

I enrolled today in the last two courses I will need before I graduate. By the end of this quarter I will have completed my sociology my major and I need one class each to complete the Chicana/o Studies major and Spanish minor. I�m excited about graduating, but at the same time scared out of my mind. I know I want to earn a doctorate in Ethnic Studies, but I didn�t submit the application to UC San Diego. As of now, I�m waiting to hear back from the Teach for America program.

I really envy those folks who have it all figured out. Kennisha, a fellow council member, hear�s from a different law school almost every week. I�m excited for her because she was accepted at her first choice school, Columbia. My ex, the Turtle, has the next 5 years planned out; he�ll be going through the torture that is medical school.

I on the other hand went through half of the application process, took 3 expensive tests (one that cost me $175 may even be useless), and still am not much farther along than I was in September. I have a much better idea of what I don�t want to do than what I really do want to do.

When people find out that I�ll be graduating in a few short months they immediately ask what I�ll be doing afterwards. I got the same reaction 4 years ago when I was in high school, but then it was much easier because I just answered that I�d be going to UCLA and was still unsure about my major. My orientation counselor assured me that it was absolutely normal to not know at age 17 what I wanted to dedicate my studies to.

Four years later, people ask me the same question and I have an indefinite answer for them. The question itself bugs me� why do they have to be so damn nosey? I know they mean no harm, but every time someone asks I find myself feeling guilty and inadequate for not having a definite answer.

Few people tell a 21-year-old college graduate that its okay to not have her life for the next 40 years or so all figured out.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star