Ozomatli, the monkey
02.23.02 // 9:50 p.m.

I live with 3 other girls, all with tattoos. Pato got a spider tattooed on the inside of her wrist on her 22nd birthday last December. On her 18th birthday in the spring of our first year, Vane got Nahui Ollin (Nahuatl for fourth movement) painted in permanent ink on her tailbone. She must have a high threshold for pain. Ome had Tonatiuh imprinted just below her waist.

I am the only one without some permanent ink marking on my body. I have yet to visit a tattoo parlor for two main reasons. The first is because I know for sure that my parents would disapprove. That�s putting it mildly; my parents would freak and then probably try to scrub off whatever image or word I had an artist painfully draw into my skin. They believe that we shouldn�t alter our bodies in such a way, supposedly it�s a sin or its in the Bible somewhere. I wonder why they pierced my ears as a baby then.

The second reason I would not get a tattoo was because I had no idea what I would get. Then, I found the image of Ozomatli while doing research on indigenous music and instruments for a class last quarter.

If you were born under the sign of the monkey, or Ozomatli, in the Mexica Tonalmachiotl (many mistakenly call it the Aztec Calendar), you were likely to be talented in art, dance, music, and writing. Some also say Ozomatli (monkey) is the god of dance.

I fell in love with it and what it represented. I don�t know which sign I was born under, but I hope it was Ozomatli �cause I would like to think that I have some out of the ordinary talent in the fine arts.

As of right now, I can�t imagine myself finding the courage to go through the physical pain of getting Ozomatli tattooed onto my lower back and then the mental courage to tell my parents about it. But, who knows. I got to grow up sometime or other.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star