I will recreate you
02.27.02 // 11:44 p.m.

�Because when you are gone I recreate you from memory.�

- from Sandra Cisneros� �Eyes of Zapata� in Woman Hollering Creek

Sandra Cisneros is one of my favorite authors. When I first read the book for a class two years ago, a bunch of lines just jumped out at me and I kept note of them. Some just seemed so right for my love life back then.

Now, this line just seems to fit the situation with Dom. I don�t see him nearly as much as I would like. There are some 380 miles in between his house and my apartment. So, when I�m with him its like my senses are heightened. I become much more alert to my surroundings. When I�m close to him and about to kiss him I study his face.

I examine the freckles, the almost clear eyelashes, his hairline and facial hair, his �sexy earlobes,� his rough hands and short fingernails. I do it all with the purpose of memorizing him. If I succeed, later I will recreate him from memory, like In�z from Cisneros� story. My mind�s re-creation is pretty good too.

I close my eyes during dull periods in class and imagine that I�m not sitting in a lecture hall surrounded by people trying too hard to be trendy.

Instead, I�m in San Francisco�s famous Haight Street district. In Amoeba records (gee I love this store) I lean against him and rest my head on the spot right below his neck. He peruses the videos in the comedy section for a movie for his brother. I touch one hand, and then he uses the same one to gently rub my back and brush over my long brown hair. Then he does what I love most and kisses me lightly on top of my head.

It would be wonderful if I could just live in my imagination when I�m away from Dom. It�s not possible though, I still have the real world to deal with, and no photographic memory can lessen the fact that nearly 400 miles separates us.

Fin. The mushiness ends here.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star