Amor de lejos
02.14.02 // 4:31 a.m.

...amor de pendejos. (Loosely: Long distance love, idiot love).

I used to hear that dicho/proverb and laugh, thinking how true it was. I could not fathom why someone would want to get involved with someone that they could only see once a month or much less.

I saw my roommate go through tough times with her boyfriend 3,000 miles away. Their case was different solely because their relationship began with both of them close by and the distance came later. They also knew that it would be temporary, only 2 years, while each finished up graduate and undergraduate studies. So, he�d be home in the summers and breaks.

Now I hear that dicho and think, what the hell do they know? I�m sure that in the days that this dicho was popularized communication between two people miles away was much more difficult. Now telecommunications makes it much more affordable to keep in touch with loved ones hundreds of miles away. Phones, email, instant messenger and even letters are more convenient in the 21st century. So even if you can�t see him every day, at least you can talk.

I guess the dicho also assumes that there will be issues of fidelity. This can�t even be guaranteed if you live with your lover, but I do understand it becomes more difficult when you�re far apart.

I don�t want to be a pendeja. I want to be someone who can actually beat the system. It can happen, right? I�m trying to be realistic, rather than optimistic and pessimistic. I know its tough, but right now I'm just so into Dom that I don't mind the distance as much.

�Feliz d�a del amor y la amistad! In M�xico it�s not all about couples, but instead about love and friendship. I like it better that way.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star