Arts Colony
02.10.02 // 6:18 p.m.

I�ve lived in Southern California for all of my 21.5 years of life. For most of those years I lived in the suburbs of Los Angeles County sheltered in a small community that Rudy Acu�a, a Chicano historian, nicknamed the Mexican Beverly Hills. Besides that misnomer, our other claim to fame is that my little unincorporated township is home to the largest Buddhist temple in the northern or western hemisphere.

The community is nice, but there isn�t much to do besides meander through the mall and catch the latest flick at the AMC multiplex with the cool stadium seating. If you want some �culture� you got to go a few miles east to Whittier, northeast to Pasadena or much farther to LA or Hollywood. So, imagine my surprise to discover a hidden treasure in the Pomona Arts Colony less than 15 miles from my parents� home.

I went with my parents and sister to see a show by a young artist they know. I first saw Marco Zamora at a hotel in Palm Springs a couple of years ago (maybe �98?) when I went with my parents for a business conference. I found out he was the nephew of one my dad�s colleagues. Later I�d see him around for business events and he even came to my 21st birthday party with his aunt and uncle. By that point Lori, my sister, had already noticed that he was a pretty good looking guy (that�s putting it mildly).

When Lori found out about the art show, she insisted we had to go. She herself is a talented photographer and wanted to check out the cubist art of a guy she thought was hot. So, we did and I was a little upset that this was the first time I had ever been to the small but charming Arts Colony. I felt like I had been missing out the whole time on these two blocks with brightly painted mail boxes and cool galleries. We visited the Cuttress Gallery for Marco�s solo show for the reception with the artist. I had a chance to ask him about his experience at Cal Arts, how he ended up having his art displayed in the offices at the Vatican and his inspirations. Every piece I really liked had already been sold, but I was impressed with the talent of this guy who was only 20 years old.

I decided as I left the Arts Colony in the middle of boring suburbia that I had to return to find some more treasures and find some more inspiration for my writing.

---------

In other news, I felt really good on Friday because I at a meeting I contributed some valuable insight and brought up some good points that helped SE! folks strategize for the council meeting on Tuesday. Later I went to Shakey�s for a fundraiser with MEChA folks, and after that I got a good buzz going � something I was really looking forward to � at a birthday party for a few friends. All in all, I�ve had a good weekend.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star