Keep your pants on
02.15.02 // 6:40 p.m.

Beep, beep, beep. Who called me? I checked the number on my phone, which told me only that someone called from on campus. As soon as I got out of my boring service-learning seminar I check the message.

�Um, Cindy, its Eligio. I was just calling to ask if you could pick something up that I left at the GRO. I need it, but won�t be going back over there. Its on the desk, you can�t miss it. I�ll call you later.�

I walked toward the other end of campus where my office is located. The campus was unusually quiet for a Thursday evening. It was only 7 but no one seemed to be around. Maybe they all were getting ready for their V-day plans. Although, my Valentine was 400 miles away, I had plans to go to dinner with some friends.

I met Chispa where she works and asked her to accompany me to third floor so I could deliver some Monster�s Inc. Valentine cards to my co-workers and fellow council members.

We exited the elevator (we�re lazy, I know) to a hallway crammed with the film crew�s equipment. I�m used to filming on campus. My campus has been in everything from Scream to Gilmore Girls (that wasn�t Harvard). Most of the time, the filming isn�t so close and they�re outdoors.

Lately, however, they�ve been unusually close. In January I sat at my computer at work and looked out onto an argument between a couple at the fictional Finchley College on Crossing Jordan. The film crew set up lights in the office, and the extras chilled on the couch. It didn�t bug much.

Yesterday was worse though. I entered my office and flipped the switch to find something I never expected. The window is directly opposite the door. You can easily climb out onto the roof, which overlooks a patio. The roof is more like and extended balcony that folks smoke on or use to get out of their cramped offices.

Out on the two-foot high brick wall surrounding the roof stood 5 men of varying heights with their pants around their ankles. They faced the patio with boxes covering their crotches. Long shirts covered their butts, so all we saw were hairy legs.

Chispa and I picked up the rose laid across the keyboard of my iMac (a pleasant surprise, I might add), mouthed an awkward �sorry� to the crew guy and pant-less actors for disturbing them with the light, and proceeded to go find an ATM to get cash for dinner.

I doubt I�ll ever find guys with their pants down again on the roof � at least I hope not. I guess that�s what I get for going to a college a few miles away from Hollywood and the big studios.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star