something in the stars that show me
08.08.04 // 2:28 a.m.

Is it odd to go to a funeral and a bridal shower in the same day?

Eh... I didn't plan it that way

I returned to the Westside Friday night to hang out with Arshad, Roses and Eddie at the usual caf� with horrible service. It was good to see all those people. I didn't realize I missed Roses so much; I knew I wanted to spend more time just kicking it with Arsh; and I haven't seen Eddie since I visited Boston/Cambridge in November.

The funeral I attended was for a friend's mother. I've known Gabs since my first year. I'm not really close to him, but he's always helped me out with anything I needed. It was odd to see all these former Mechistas in a Catholic church. Still, they all went to show their support for their friend, that's what we're supposed to do right?

I watched some baseball history in the making (Greg Maddux's 300th win, go Cubs... well I'm really just glad SF lost) and worked on tidying up the apartment for the bridal shower.

We all knew Sandra was going to be the first of us to get married... but now that it's just a month away it seems really weird. I remember meeting her in FSP and thinking she talked loud, ate fast, and was a little too blunt. Still, she's hella cool (she brought a ton of grapes from Delano for the guests), and it's great to see her so happy. Damn, she's marring an engineer who works at JPL. I joke that Rick (the future hubby) is a rocket scientist.


When I went to a Dodger game in Septemer 2001 with Victor (aka V-scale) we contemplated what our at-bat songs would be if we were major league players. I joked that his would be "El Tucanazo" by los Tucanes de Tijuana.

I'm still not sure what mine would be, but maybe "Las Flores" or "La Ingrata" by Caf� Tacuba.

Since I'm a nerd, I thought it would be cool to see know what the actual players in the MLB like to hear when they come to the plate. Personally, my favorite is Eric Gagn�'s "Welcome to the Jungle" by Guns n' Roses.


I'm a day or two late on this... oh well.

1. How long have you lived in Los Angeles?
In the city, since 1998, and in the county since my birth almost 24 years ago.

2. Were you born here?
See above. I was born in Monterey Park, which is about 5-10 minutes outside of the city limits.

3. How long did you plan on staying here originally?
I don't think I've ever planned on leaving for any other reason than to attend a school.

4. How long do you plan on staying here now?
I can't see myself living outside of LA or Southern California permanently. However, after I finish my program, I'd like to work in another city for a few years. Too much perfect weather gets to you after a while.

5. What keeps you here?
My family, friends, the usual stuff. On an educational/professional level, it's the best place for me in terms of my intended career path. I feel comfortable, and I really do like being around lots of Mexicans and Latinos.

6. What makes you want to leave?
Warm winter days (I want to wear my fly ass coat, dammit!), Secu, traffic (at almost any time of the day), bad public transportation, and friends in other cities.

7. What is your biggest suprise about living here?
I didn't expect to still be discovering parts of the city, and the so-called misperception that all citizens of the city are fake and superficial.

8. What is your biggest disappointment about living here?
The racism that exists but few people actually talk about. Not even a few cold days in winter!

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: tired
Escuchando: "something" by the beatles

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star