31 haikus
01.31.05 // 3:29 p.m.

One of the goals I set for 2005 was to write at least one haiku daily. I did this while I was in M�xico per Kris' request (by the way, if you're in New York, you should go see the barebones production of his play, Welcome to Arroyo's).

I continued the practice through October, but by the time November rolled around I was starting to get more serious about school.

So, for the last 31 days, I've been writing haikus. I'll continue this throughout the year (I hope) and post them at the end of each month.

January Haikus

1.01
Giant cactus glows
Minutes after the countdown
It's now zero five

1.02
Returned to the heights
It's calm, quiet, collected
I get bored quickly

1.03
Finally set goals
This project is one of them
Let's see if it lasts

1.04
It's almost over
No more lazy vacation
Time to get to work

1.05
Rain finally stopped
So we strolled along the beach,
Took a Westside tour

1.06
Handsome professor
Transcended "Hispanicness"
That was annoying

1.07
Teachers get crazy
Make x-rated home movies
Shh, keep it secret

1.08
Girlfriends hail at plan
To find a man at the bar
My flirting game sucks

1.09
I just realized
The happiness photos bring
I get warm fuzzies

1.10
Non-date for dinner
With handsome basketnall fan
Good food, good friend, nice

1.11
Decided I'm bored
With the alter ego and lies
Goodbye, Marisa

1.12
It's five years later
And I still feel out of wack
I miss you, Grandma

1.13
Finally met him
Assigned to the same small group
I didn't like it

1.14
I call college reps
Ask them to participate
In a new study

1.15
Lori's all grown up
Which scares me a little bit
She's still my lil' sis

Twentyfirst birthday
Lots of tacos, drinks, purses,
And fragrant lotions

1.16
Zack wore great sneakers
Played soccer and tenor sax
He was blonde, blue eyed

1.17
I laughed at his hair
Inhaled his secondhand smoke
Shared words without touch

1.18
Eighty-five degrees
Students read outdoors in sun
Spring's early this year

1.19
Potential new prof
Meets with higher ed students
Answers tough questions

1.20
Camera needed
To capture some wondrous sites
Like gorgeous sprinters

1.20
Forty-five minutes
Total time I slept last night
Coffee was needed

1.21
Two confirmations
Of schools to participate
Still need seven more

1.22
Mango strawberry
Sweet tobacco smoke floats up
Masks our true feelings

1.23
The Roots said it best
It's a lazy afternoon
Just as I like them

1.24*
Pulsating, throbbing
Gasolina fills my tank
Finally, fulfillment
* Co-written with Isa

1.25
Quiz in methods class
I finish first, that feels wrong
But I know my stuff

1.26
Sleep through statistics
Regression bores me these days
I'll need to catch up

1.27
Double consciousness
Applies to Chicanos too
It's the borderlands

1.28
Plumber fixes drain
In formerly clogged bathtub
I can shower now

1.29
Family drama
Is hard to get away from
Tougher to resolve

1.30
Sesenta y dos
A�os de ser casados
�Felicidades!

1.31
G-money voted
In Iraqi elections
From New York law school

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: sniffly
Escuchando: kbig radio (not my choice)

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star