mother and daughter: a comparative analysis
07.28.05 // 12:02 a.m.

I'm almost 25, the "drama age" according to one of my guy friends. I doubt 25 will be much more drama than 24. Anyway, this isn't about my age, but it's more about what I do and don't have at my age in comparison to my mom.

Just married My mom and dad got married on July 23, 1977. My mom was 20 years, 7 months, and a couple of weeks old.

At 20, I had just received my driver's license, was getting used to driving around a huge boat (or 1987 Chrysler New Yorker, depends on who you ask), and trying to feed myself in my own apartment (with 3 roommates). I was causing ruckus on campus, taking classes, and trying to get people vote for me.

A few months before her 22nd birthday in January 1979, my mom now had a son and a home in the LA County suburb of Hacienda Heights.

Me? Well, I earned a degree in Sociology and Chicana/o Studies and I got a job that gave me lots of canas but that I really loved.

Just the two of us At 23 and 8 months of age, my mom had me, her second and favorite (heh) child. She stayed home with her two young kids while her husband commuted to a dealership in LA.

Me? I was still working at that stressful job, but I had been admitted to graduate school and decided on a PhD program in education.

Power to the people! I don't know where this is going. I guess part of me wouldn't mind being where my mom was at my age. I wouldn't mind having a young son and daughter, married and paying a mortgage.

Yeah, the biological clock is ticking. Blame it on Kahlea (see photo to right).

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: restless
Escuchando: crazy dream - los lonely boys

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star