�a mover la colita!
04.13.03 // 7:51 p.m.

A mover, mover, a mover la colita
Si no la mueves se te va poner malita

I danced my colita (ass) away yesterday to the sounds of la Sonora Dinamita's classic cumbias. They played as part of a Latin American music festival organized by one of the student groups. When I was just a little girl, I used to go to parties all the time with my parents. Whether it was a wedding or a birthday party, someone always had to play some of la Sonora Dinamita's cumbias. I'd dance feverishly to the quick rhythms in my frilly party dresses and patent leather Mary Jane's that I went all the way to Tijuana to buy. Even though I didn't have any hips at the time, I tried to copy the moves of the adults. I'd dance in circles with other little kids, and my dad would spin me around. Ah, such carefree days.

The only thing that sucked about the festival was that my date, Isa, had to cancel on me 'cause she had to babysit her little brother, Fatboy. It was cool though, because when I got there, I found Ome, Claudex, and a few people I hadn't seen since graduation. I saw some icky folks I didn't care to see. Yuck.

Now, for my list of Sonora Dinamita favorites:

1. Escandalo
2. Oye
3. Mil Horas
4. Mover la Colita
5. Mi Cucu
6. Capullo y Sorullo
7. Mete y Saca

Comments: 4 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: like dancing
Escuchando: la banda skalavera's cd

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star