plan d
06.18.05 // 2:11 a.m.

People trust their kids with this woman Plan A.

Ome: Let's go to Don Antonio's.
Me: Okay, I should be done with my paper by then.
Ome: See you at 7 at the apartment.

Ome, the ex-roommate, shows up at the apartment before I do. Isa lets her in and she waits for me to return from turning in my paper on campus. We head on over Don Antonio's for $1 tacos, sangr�a and mojitos.

I swear, it seemed as if all UCLA undergrads had read our minds. Or, they were finally out of financial aid refunds and loan money at the end of the quarter and the only thing they could afford to celebrate the end of the academic year was $1 tacos. Ome and I decided to continue heading west on Pico. Man, I was looking forward to tacos de papa.

Plan B.

Ome: There's a place I used to go to on Pico. It's called Flints.
Me: Where is it at?
Ome: I'm not sure, but let's just drive, we'll find it... I think it's on Pico.

We drive all the way to 19th street near the Santa Monica Aquatic Center. No Flint's. Hmmm. Ome decides to call someone who knows where this place is located. We find out that the restaurant is at 32nd and Pico. Great.

We're at 32nd and Pico. Flint's is nowhere to be found. Ome calls 411 and we find out Flint's has now become the 310 Bistro which looks too stuffy for our taste.

Plan C.

Me: We can go to Lares [a Mexican restaurant], they'll have mojitos there and it's a block down on Pico.
Ome: Okay.

We park and walk over to Lares. A sign on the door says something about a fire, damage and closing down. Damn. Why hadn't we noticed that the other THREE times we drove past Lares?

Plan D.

Plan D: Pacíficos Me: Let's just go to Pac�ficos. It's close by the apartment. They have drinks there too.
Ome: Okay, let's go before they close.

We headed back towards my apartment to the restaurant we had gone to a few times before. Just like the old times, we talked about guys, vacation, school, changes and what it meant that we now had master's degrees.

I think we were at peace with the way things worked out.

Comments: 3 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: okay
Escuchando: pop secret on kcrw

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star