good weekend?
11.25.02 // 8:02 p.m.

I love Kinky. Really, I do. I think I fell in love with the band from Monterrey, M�xico when I saw them at the KCRW Sounds Eclectic concert. Yo and I couldn�t stop objectifying Pliego, the bassist with the Tejana. Wouldn�t you? I got to stop this infatuation with Mexican rock stars.

This past weekend was one of the best I�ve had in a while. No car accidents, no being forced to go to church and no icky conversations with any redheads. It was just relaxed and fun. Even though I didn�t really know half of the lineup for Saturday night�s concert I still enjoyed myself with Yo. We grooved to Kinky and chilled outside during the sets by the singers who bored us. We got a free drink from the guy at the concessions stand perhaps because he was amused by the bickering sisters or more likely because we�re cute. Beck played a few duets, including �You�re the One that I Want� from Grease with Sia from Zero 7. Beck is one of the most interesting white guys in music these days.

Sunday I spent most of the day at the Getty Center. I checked out the Dorothea Lange exhibit which I really enjoyed. I think I�ll take Yo some time soon since she�s a budding photographer. The people I was with, some of our students from the project in the mentorship component, were mainly first years. I was surprised at how much fun I had. The day was too beautiful and after checking out one exhibit we fooled around in the Family Room at the Getty and then headed over to the beautiful garden. After exploring the plants and stuff we sat on the grassy hill overlooking the garden. We (me, Daniela, Rosario, and Jessica) took a cue from the 5 year olds on the other side of the hill and started rolling down the hill. If you haven�t done this since your grammar school days, I would suggest it, as long as you don�t get sick easily with dizziness. The group that I went with got together in the afternoon and we all studied/read on the same grassy lawn. For a study break we played a tag game called Blob which was a little dangerous (imagine almost getting your arm pulled out or running into a tree or wall!). Once we left the Getty, I got together with two of the folks on my staff (Erika G. and Walter) for dinner at the dorms.

What else? Well, the embarrassing loss to �SC didn�t get to me until Sunday night when I was at Tim�s and Scott was hearing his �fucla� tshirt. Yuck. But even if Scott did wear that shirt at our weekly Sunday night Sopranos gathering, he still couldn�t spoil my good mood. The weekend ended with watching Crooklyn at Tim�s apartment.

Oh yeah, and Adrian�s soccer team won their tournament this week too after winning the regional championship last Saturday.

I don�t know what it was about the weekend. Maybe the fact that things are beginning to look up for me, the winter break is coming up (hey, I still have to work), the hurt from the break up slowly fading away, a date with Benny.

I�m starting to feel happy again� something that�s been missing from my life for a while.

Minor glitch: when I was talking to Tim, I mentioned Victor�s birthday coming up on Sunday. I don�t remember why I said it, but as soon as I did, Tim replied, �Yeah, and Dominic�s is on Monday, right?� I couldn�t even look at Tim, and just nodded my head. Uh� I wonder if he could notice. I bet, I used to talk about Dom non-stop and now I won�t even mention his name in the presence of some mutual friends (minus Chris).

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: hungry
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star