i work for a living
03.07.03 // 7:57 p.m.

I haven't written anything in a long time about work... well, I just haven't written at all. Anyway, things in the office have been crazy, but it's been getting better and the quarter is winding down which means that spring break is right around the quarter! Ugh... I don't get much of a break.

Three weeks ago, the fifth director (the one we all didn't get alnong with) blew up at the other four during a meeting. I haven't seen her since, partly because immediately after that, she had to take a forced leave of absence. In the ensuing weeks, she was fired, and I was a little relieved. I couldn't imagine still having to work with her after she had told me and the other three director to fuck off (and this from a 27 year old woman with a master's degree...). So, now the four of us who are left are much happier, but it's not a good situation because we know a couple of the programs are really suffering and if one program fails then all programs fail.

In other news, I broke down at work, again, last Thursday after my advisor went too far. The situation now seems a bit comical, but at the time I freaked and was fuming. I couldn't even speak ab out it without crying tears of anger. I felt completely disrespected, as if the autonomy of my program was superseded. It was humiliating... but by the end of the day he apologized to me. He tried to explain that he was just trying to help, and when I told him that his way of "helping" was far from helpful he conceded that I was right. This is rare, my advisor actually apologizing. I think this makes three times I've cried directly because of work since the summer.

And now, things in the office are much less stressful. My staff isn't as bad as they were last quarter, and I just ignore the ones who bug me that much.

The winter quarter is almost over... I can't believe I've been in this position nearly 9 months. I've come a long way and still have a lot more to go.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: my foot is asleep!
Escuchando: de que manera te olvido por vicente fernandez

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star