Musings on prom
05.09.02 // 12:46 p.m.

Yo won�t shut up about going to prom. About two weeks ago she offered to my parents that she would skip out and instead use some of that money for our trip to San Francisco. She didn�t have a date until sometime in the middle of last week even though she had turned down a couple of guys trying to hold out for Chris R. (that punk!). Steven, a friend who taught her to snowboard during the winter, asked her and she gladly accepted.

Now, she�s really excited about it and she�s all smiley and goofy when she tells me about her dress. I�m happy for her, really. Anything that makes my sister happy is good for me. Perhaps that�s why I didn�t mind too much that Ralph stayed talking to her in the living room of Dom�s house in Santa Rosa until past 4 in the morning.

But with Yo�s excitement about prom, playing dress up and cute boys come thoughts about my own experience.

You see, I didn�t go to prom. I never bothered to go to any high school dances. I used to feel really bad about the prom thing, especially with the circumstances surrounding it. I felt like I missed out on the biggest thing in high school or something. For a long time I was too ashamed to even admit to my closest friends in college that I hadn�t attended for x, y and z reasons.

Chispa was the prom queen at her school� and I didn�t even go. I�m over it, really. During my senior year money was tight at home so I think I did my parents a favor, sort of but I don�t feel like disclosing all details. If anything, I can always play it off and say that back then I just thought I was too cool to dress up in an over-priced gown, do my hair and makeup in a totally non-me fashion, try to walk in my shoes, hang out with a date who had two left feet, and friends who were not getting along with each other.

So, this Saturday, I hope Yoyi has lots of fun and doesn�t feel let down by anything or anyone.

One last thing� I wonder how Dario�s doing at Stanford. Don�t you ever feel like just seeing old crushes just to see how they�re doing and how they look almost 4 years later? I wonder if my heart would flip flop when I saw him again like it did daily in the library while we finished homework before first period. I liked him so much I�d go to his soccer games, talk to his younger cousins about him, and even work out my routes to class so I could have a chance to just say hello somewhere in between. Damn, I was such a dork. Never mind, I still am and there are plenty of people to attest to that fact.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: like a slacker, slightly nostalgic
Escuchando: Luz de d�a, por los Enanitos Verdes

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star