nerd tendencies
06.23.04 // 1:48 p.m.

I've spent the morning working pretty efficiently with the numbers that I love so much. Even if looking at them gives me headache after a few hours, it's still exciting. I can't wait for more quantitative research opportunities at HERI and research methods and statistics courses.

Consequently, I came across a post at okayplayer.com. I don't know if I qualify as a "true" nerd in the eyes of many of the posters. Still, in the eyes of many friends and family the things that excite me are enough for them to yell: "nerd!"

A short list of my nerd tendencies...

1. I was (and still am) really excited to read a book about baseball statistics, and I still dream about being a baseball statistician. Paul de Podesta, Dodger General Manager and former Oakland A's assistant GM is dreamy...

2. I like making new databases and Excel spreadsheets to figure out better ways to see if the peer counselors are doing their jobs right. I wish I could answer these questions: are students' GPA's increasing? Is it a significant increase compared to students who do not have a peer counselor or meet with one consistently? Are the ones who were in probation or subject to dismissal in the clear now? Did we actually help them out? Are the students who go to nightly study hall doing better in their coursework? How does involvement help/hurt these students' academically?

3. I'm going into a PhD program in education at UCLA, but I turned down Harvard, Columbia and Michigan

4. I missed school and really enjoyed the winter quarters when I got to be a TA.

5. I really enjoyed studying for the GRE (new words!).

6. One of my nicknames as a kid was "Dictionary Head."

7. I want to take biology, chemistry, physics, advanced algebra, trigonometry and geometry courses just for the fun of it at a local community college. (I know I could have done much better in my math and science courses)/

8. I'm excited when I get home in time to watch Jopardy! And yes, I still dream about being a contestant.

9. I played trombone for 8 years (middle school-college) in the marching band. I even was run over by a Wisconsin player during pregame at the 1999 Rose Bowl.

10. I still take notes when i read, even if it's just leisure reading

11. I love crossword puzzles.

12. I love pouring over maps and atlases. I'm jealous of people who own Thomas Guides and would only go to a local mall because there's a Rand McNally store there.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: productive
Escuchando: mos def, "mathematics"

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star