The age thing
03.17.02 // 11:25 p.m.

On Friday night as Pato and I waited for our order at In-n-out a tall, dark and handsome (ooh, I love clich�s) man sat down at the table next to us. Prior to him inviting himself into our conversation we had been discussing the causes of pe-do-phi-lia [damn google searches!] (genetic, environmental, result of sexual repression?).

I held American Pie 2 in my hand. He looked over and asked, �What movie did you get?�

I looked to my left, then down at the box as if I forgot which movie I had rented. �Uh, American Pie 2.�

�Really? What is it rated?�

�I think its R.�

�Are you old enough to watch that?�

Who was this guy, I thought? Did my parents hire him to spy on me or something? I hesitated, then answered affirmatively and a bit perturbed that once again my age was questioned.

�How old are you?� Mr. Inquisitive continued.

�21.�

�Wow, you look young.� If only I had a penny� I hear that at least once a week it seems. The comments about my youthful appearance used to bother me, but by now I don�t think twice about it. I�ve been told I look younger than both Adrian and Lori. At the time Adrian was 14, and I was 18, so the woman thought I was about 13 years old. When I was 17 I sat with my family at Claim Jumper�s and the waitress had the nerve to ask my mother if I was older than 12.

My mom got a kick out of it since me being 5 years younger would have made her younger too. When Lori had her quincea�era three years ago people who just knew my parents but were invited to the party thought that I was the quincea�era, or they would ask when I was having my party to present me as an eligible se�orita to society. When I used to tutor students at a local high school students asked what grade I was in. When I would respond that I was a second year they�d look a little embarrassed and reply with the familiar phrase, �oh wow, you look young!�

Sometimes its kind of fun to pretend I�m younger. If I wanted to, I could pass as a high school student. I also would have no trouble convincing someone who just met me that I skipped a couple of grades. And I guess sometime down the line this youthful look will pay off when I really do want to look like I�m in my early �20s. For now I�ll continue to collect my pennies when I hear that familiar phrase and just politely respond with an, �I know, I get that a lot� (though that�s an understatement).

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star