picture day
12.19.01 // 1:45 p.m.

After putting it off for about a month, I finally went in for my senior portraits at the studio on campus. I had heard from my roommate, Vane that the experience was slightly surreal, but I didn�t quite comprehend until I took my portraits.

I started off the day bright and early. I spent the night at my parent�s house rather than at my apartment simply because when it comes to makeup and fixing my hair I�m useless. I�m not terrible, but I like the way my sister Lori does my eyes and hair, so I had her fix me up before she went to school. I have more makeup on than I ever do right now. I got the goop on my eyes (mascara and eyeliner), concealer to cover up a few minor imperfections, eye shadow, liquid foundation, loose powder, and worst of all lipstick. I�m usually ok with everything except lipstick if it�s a special occasion. I have yet to find a lipstick that does not make my lips look bigger than they already are. So usually I�ll skip out on the lipstick and just wear Chap Stick.

I felt like I was going to take those weird glamour shots rather than my senior portraits. But the fact remains that I needed some color for my pale skin and some body for my sometimes-lifeless hair. I have to admit that I did look cute though, but according to Dom I would look just as cute without the mask on my face. I usually avoid makeup. I believe my mom�s words that I have natural beauty so I don�t need it. I have to be careful who I say that around. I once mentioned it in front of my beautiful and glamorous T�a Luisa. She turned to me and asked in Spanish, ��Entonces solo las feas se tienen que maquillarse?� Oops. I got out of that one easily, but I digress, back to the portraits.

I rushed to the photo studio on campus hoping that since I was 4 minutes late I would still be able to take my pictures. I filled out the paperwork, applied my lipstick and 30 seconds later the photographer asked me to step into the studio.

�So, I see you�re graduating with degrees in Sociology and Chicana and Chicano Studies.�

�Yes, I replied.�

�Good. Now, do you expect to be graduating with Latin honors?�

�Yes.� I�m a nerd, I know�

He then helped me put on the gown and attached the sash and honors cord to the gown. I looked at myself in the mirror for a few seconds and tried to fix my hair the way I wanted it. I understood then why Vane said it felt weird to be taking those pictures. Up until today I didn�t have any real or concrete things that showed that I would be finishing up my undergraduate career by June. When he put the cap and tassel on I was a little more weirded out. I mean I�m supposed to be class of 1998, not 2002. 1998� damn that�s almost four years ago. It�s a clich�, but time really does go by fast. I don�t think I felt that way when I was in super boring lectures, but now that I�m almost done I find that there are about 10 classes I really want to take, but can�t because I can only handle so much in one quarter and I still need to complete a few requirements.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star