the services
12.17.01 // 1:07 p.m.

I'm starting to get sick. This isn't fun. I keep sneezing and coughing. I guess its just a sign that I don't take care of myself well enough. Hopefully I'll be feeling fine again by this weekend because Dom is coming to see me! Woo-hoo! I can't really contain my excitement.

Talking to Dom on Friday night about Martin's death made me feel better, not that I didn't doubt it would. I showed up to the wake a few minutes before it was over. I paid my respects to Carla, Sarah and Elizabeth, his daughters, and saw his ex-wife for the first time in a long time. Then I went to the chapel were the open casket was. I saw my Tio Pancho and just hugged him. I know I would be devastated to lose a sibling. I'm really close to my Tio too so seeing him go through that obviously has an affect on me. One of his sisters nearly collapsed in front of the casket. When I finally got the chance I went up and said a short prayer. Martin didn't look like himself. The makeup was all wrong and he looked much older. The Martin I remember was always young (I think he was about 45), lively and smiling.

The next day the funeral mass was held at the same chapel at Queen of Heaven cemetery. Roberto, my mother's cousin said the mass. It was kind of quiet. Afterwards we walked to the burial site. I walked with Valerie and my Tia Marta. They both looked really down, especially Val. She was crying during the mass because she forgot a picture she had drawn for Martin.

After Roberto finished at the burial site, Lori, Adrian and myself went to look for Katie Millan's grave. The weird thing was that we couldn't find a gravestone for her or a plaque at the mausoleum. It was really frustrating not being able to find Katie's gravestone or place in the mausoleum.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star