Friday filler
02.22.02 // 5:17 p.m.

I completed my application for Teach for America, a two-year program where you�re placed in either a rural or urban disadvantaged school. I�m not really sure I want to do the program, but right now I have nothing else definite lined up after June when I graduate. I feel that I submitted a well-written essay and statement of intent. My r�sum� is filled with student leadership responsibilities and my lone �real� job. My GPAs � cumulative, and in both of my majors � even impress me at times. I realized that I look pretty damn good on paper. By March 5th I should know if I�ll be granted an interview or not.

Irvin is here right next to me and we both agree that it is too damn hot, isn�t it February not May? Seriously, the high today was about 85 degrees. I feel like its spring quarter when I see a bunch of melanin deficient girls sprawled across the grassy lawns on campus soaking in some UV Rays. Irvin and I both agree that we should join those girls obsessed with getting tanned �cause our Zacatecano-ness shines through in our too-light skin. Many Mexicans say that people from Zacatecas are light-skinned. I�m only half Zacatecana (my dad is from Guanajuato, birthplace of Diego Rivera) but I think the Zacatecas genes reigned in my skin phenotype.

Being in college is cool, I think its one of the few places where in a very short time you become really close to people. Irvin is one of those. I met him in the fall when he started coming around to MEChA meetings. Then I found out that his family was from Jer�z, Zacatecas the same city where my mother�s family is from. Instantly, we became �paisas� and attributed our quickly growing bond to Jer�z. He gives great hugs too and listens to me vent which is no easy task.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star