there's hella ash there
07.02.03 // 9:31 p.m.

"Donde hubo fuego, quedan cenizas."

I scribbled the short saying in green ink below the inside of his elbow. It was no coincident that my words were right above his tattoo of flames surrounding Arabic characters spelling out "fire."

Around the tattoo and all over his right arm were my scribbles and drawings. I drew before and after pictures of me with short and long hair, my famous sun burst, and random words.

I don't know if he ever read the saying, or if he even tried to figure out what it meant. He probably did figure it out, he knows enough Spanish. The way we are though, my spontaneous message will go unmentioned the next time we see each other.

I left him that night with a long hug, the type we used to give each other a year ago. I was surprised that it all went so well.

Why? I didn't think it would be so easy. You see, it's been 6 months since the last time I had seen him. In between January and now, our communication could be summed up in two words: sparse and infrequent.

However, on that Tuesday night, it was as if those months had never passed. Suddenly, we were answering questions for each other, teasing each other, talking about families and basically picking up where we left off. Perhaps it was the familiar setting we were in. We ate at one of our favorite restaurants with a bunch of our mutual friends, my sister was even there. From there, we headed to another friend's house to just hang out. But did I mention that this house was the same one where we met?

All the negative feelings were gone. It was just a lot of laughter, catching up and joking around. I can't really explain it. Kristen is right. We do have a "natural affinity" for each other.

[Translation: Where there was fire, ash remains.]

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: anxious
Escuchando: "Eres" de Cuatro Caminos por Cafe Tacuba

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star