warm fuzzies
01.22.03 // 7:12 p.m.

I sent a Cat in the Hat thank you card last week to Dwine, my host in Nueva York. I couldn't have asked for a better and more accomodating host. When friends and co-workers ask me who I stayed with in NYC, I tell them that I stayed at the apartment of a friend whom I didn't meet until I arrived. They give me a quizzical look and that's when I explain that I didn't know my my host until I arrived.

I was the first of my group of 8 to arrive in the city and woke up Dwine and the ungodly hour of 6:30 am. I called him from the airport to let him know I'd be taking a cab to his place. Half an hour later I was outside his building on Malcolm X Boulevard in Bed-Stuy and ringing apartment 3. He came down and I finally met the man I'd be staying with for the next 10 days. Like a true gentleman, he lugged my 50 pound suitcase up two flights of stairs into his apartment while I walked on ahead with my light carry on bag into the warm apartment.

It might have been a little awkward. You know, you're in a strange city, at the apartment of someone you've never met, very tired and jet lagged. But it wasn't. Even though Dwine didn't know me, he still welcomed me based on the simple fact that I was friends with some of his good friends.

He showed me around his apartment, we talked about the flight and some other small talk and then both agreed that we'd get some rest before Chris flew in. Except, when he returned to his room I couldn't sleep. You see, I need darkness to sleep and the living room where I was laying on the futon was filled with sunlight.

I didn't sleep. I sifted through my carry on and found my journal. I wrote. I figured out some work stuff I needed to finish. I showered and freshened up. And then Dwine woke up. He scolded me for doing work, but when I explained the situation he suggested I use his computer to email the work I was doing into the office.

He watched TV, I typed away, and we talked about Brooklyn and the various neighborhoods each with their own distinct identity. I never knew it was so big and populated. We discussed gentrification in Harlem (Clinton has an office on 125th!). We compared San Francisco, Los Angeles and New York. Which of the three did he like more? He told me about all the fun and free stuff there was to do in the summer, and about how much he loved it.

I miss Dwine now. I miss running to catch up to him and asking him where exactly we were going. Dwine is abut 6'4" plus he walks really fast! It was great having him around because like most tourists in NYC, we didn't have to carry around a map and figure out how to get from point A to point B. He knew great spots to eat and even better clubs, lounges and bars to dance at until 4 in the morning. I'm sure he eventually got sick of 8 Californian's taking over half of his apartment, but he never showed it. Perhaps it was because as guests we showed our gratitude. We pitched in to buy him a DVD player and Tim brought some quality tequila.

It took me a few minutes to pick out a thank you card for Dwine. Some were too sappy and some too feminine, but I liked the one I picked out. I forget what it said, some like, "Would you? Could you? You did. Thank you." I love sending thank you cards, especially when I have a real good reason to send one.

He sent me this email today when he received the card.

Hello there,

Thank you so much for the lovely card you sent, a sentimental mush like myself eats up stuff like that. You really bought a smile to my face yesterday. It was a true pleasure getting a chance to meet you, I'm glad you enjoyed your time in NYC... despite the cold weather. Next time you gotta visit when the weathers a bit more agreeable. I'm feeling fine now by the way, I was out of it for a good week or so but I've recovered. Next time i make my way home to california you shall know, that should be soon actually. I'll be patiently awaiting those pictures... peace, and thanks again.

Dwine

When I read it, a wave of nostalgia came over me and I got warm fuzzies.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: nice
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star