Vacations
03.01.02 // 6:51 p.m.

Since I can�t think of anything else too interesting to write about today, I�ll answer the Friday Five.

1. What's your favorite vacation spot?

I�ve been to a few places, but I never really thought of them as vacations. I visited Sidney, Australia and the UK in high school for band trips. On the third day of the trip, I nearly missed the bus out of London up to Scotland because I slept in late (surprise, surprise). My brother dragged me out of bed, I got dressed in 2 minutes and 5 minutes later I was on the plush bus with my friends. I was hungry but didn�t care too much to miss continental breakfast. On the way up north to Scotland we stopped in Birmingham for a midday performance. It was here where I had a nervous breakdown after a strenuous performance. I was really homesick, tired, hungry, and pissed that the director made us play so much. By the time we got to Stirling, Scotland (home of William Wallace, aka Braveheart, I think) I was feeling good enough to act like a kid and roll down the verdant hills.

I had fun for that 10-day trip, but I know the UK is not my favorite vacation spot. I visited Sydney, Australia three years before. This time my parents joined my brother and myself. That trip was amazing, but I don�t know if it was my favorite.

I can�t say that M�xico is my favorite vacation spot. The trips to the motherland are bittersweet. It�s great to visit family, but at the same time I feel terrible when faced with the poverty in the country. Plus, I have issues of not really belonging there.

So� my favorite vacation spot as of today is San Francisco, California, for obvious reasons.

2. Where do you consider to be the biggest hellhole on earth?

I haven�t been all around the earth, but after watching the documentary The Brandon Teena Story I would say that Nebraska looks like a pretty shitty place to live. The people in the documentary were just too damn ignorant and intolerant of differences.

3. What would be your dream vacation?

My dream vacation would be a grand tour of the ruins of indigenous civilizations throughout Latin America. I�d visit sites in the Yucat�n such as Chich�n Itza, then head west to Oaxaca, south to Chiapas and then into Guatemala among other places. I�d go to the Teotihuac�n, the Valley of the Gods and revel in the greatness of my ancestors. Then I�d visit my neighbors to the south in the heights of Machu Picchu(like the Pablo Neruda poem) in Per�.

4. If you could go on a road-trip with anyone, who would it be and why?

I can�t pick just one person. My bus would include: Dom, Isa, Lori, Chispa, Ome, Ralph, Pato, the Rata, Vane, Eligio, Irvin, Adrian, Danny, Mom, Dad, Nancy, Ren� (the mophead), and Feo. I�ve been on road trips with most of these people already. They're all close friends or family and I know if I brought them along, I wouldn't miss anyone.

5. What are your plans for this weekend?

I need to study. I�ll be going out for Lamont�s birthday tonight. I�m watching Y tu Mam� Tambi�n with my roommate tomorrow night. Maybe hit up the Chicana/Latina conference or the basketball game tomorrow during the day. I�ll head home to visit my grandparents and do laundry. Nothing too exciting.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star