un mes
11.06.02 // 7:28 p.m.

I set out last week that I want to figure out what role Dom will have in my life now that it�s so different. I still haven�t figured it out in just a week, but I do know that I need him as part of my life. I do know that I still want to talk to him, and that I�m still concerned about what�s going on with things. I do want to see him still, but I just don�t know when exactly or if I�ll be ready. So, the same way I tell my students when they�re setting goals for their lives, both personal and academic, I know I need to work on keeping this relationship going. So, what am I doing? Well, I figure I need to keep in contact with him. So, that�s my plan of action. I don�t know if it�ll work, but I know that when I set out specific objectives for myself (ie call/email/write once a week) I�m more likely to do it. In fact, I will do it. I did last week. I learned from very early on that I can only control my actions. I would pray the �serenity prayer� with my family after my dad got out of his month long rehab at the alcoholism treatment center.

It�s wonderful. I should really say it more.

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; the courage to change the things I can; and the wisdom to know the difference. Amen.

So, one year ago, things were so much different. And I often want to be back in that place, but I can�t be. It�s strange to think how we were on �the same page� back then and now we barely even talk. But it was really great to at least have those months.

I have hope that things will return to some semblance of normality. I mean, things are pretty normal with the Turtle now (but it did take a couple of years).

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: okay
Escuchando: "Time after time" by Cassandra Wilson

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star