La ultima vez...
06.28.02 // 6:37 p.m.

Gee, I haven�t done one of these Friday Five prompts in a while. Not much going on this week besides training and more training. Yes, I�ve learned tons, and yes I�m feeling overwhelmed. But when I think of it, it�s not that bad. Here I am in my first job out of college � only the second �real� job I�ve ever held � and I�m making a nice salary with benefits. Plus, I get to work with Chicana/o and Latina/o students at UCLA! What could be better?

Anyway, back to the Friday Five.

When was the last time you...

1. ...sent a handwritten letter? Do �Thank you� cards count? If they do, I sent a bunch of those out on behalf of myself and Yo for graduation gifts we were given. We received similar gifts from a lot of the same peoples (ie aunts and uncles), then we split up the list. I also sent a letter to Memo along with my graduation announcement. I felt terrible since I had not responded to his letter I received some time in October. I just got a response back on Wednesday and it was very nice to read his encouraging words and find out what�s going on in his life behind bars.

2. ...baked something from scratch or made something by hand? Gee� I RARELY bake, but the last time I made something by hand? Hmm� let me think. I�ll get back to you on this one.

3. ...camped in a tent? I think it was some time in the summer of �96. Maybe not, but I know it was sometime while I was in high school or right after, and that�s been a while. I went camping with my mom, Lori, Adrian, Ren� and Nancy. We joined up with her best friend, Mary, and her family at the campgrounds near Kern River. I really miss camping, I need to do it again soon.

4. ...volunteered your time to church, school, or community? Hmmm� this is practically on a daily basis. Actually, not much anymore because I�m getting paid (quite well in fact) for work I do at the school now and I did before. I volunteered for the Raza Youth Conference in May, and for a host of other things throughout the year. With the community, I volunteered in an internship for CABE during the winter quarter (January through March). For church, its been a while since I�m not there too often anymore. I think this was one of the things on the yearly goals I set out nearly six months ago. I definitely need to work on my spirituality a lot more.

5. �helped a stranger? When I was in San Francisco last weekend, Dom, Lou and I went out for lunch in North Beach at an Italian Restaurant. As we were walking back to the van, a homeless man asked Dom if he was the guy who was giving free food. Dom was holding two boxes of leftover food from mine and Lou�s meals. Lou and I agreed to give up our leftovers. That�s just one quick example, but I find that I often run into strangers on campus who are lost and I got to point them in the right direction.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: relaxed, the weekend is here!
Escuchando: the copy machine

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star