Talking Circle
06.06.02 // 11:18 p.m.

I feel like I did when I graduated high school. I kept identifying so many �lasts,� but I failed to see all the firsts that I was embarking on.

Last night I had my final Talking Circle and the last MEChA meeting of my undergraduate career. TC is nothing like Good and Welfare after USAC meetings, it much more personal and spiritual. I forgot who said it, but they said they loved TC because where else could they laugh, cry and go through 10 emotions from depressed to anxious to sad?

I�ve loved TC since my first year. It was a chance to just get anything off your chest. It�s a sacred space. When you speak, everyone has to give you their full attention. Most of the time they�re fairly long, especially if a lot of people are at the meeting. Sometimes this year I would go to the MEChA meeting just for the sake of TC. It seems that we�re all really busy taking care of school work going to site visits, planning events, and going to meetings but we don�t take the time to just sit back and talk to each other about our younger siblings or our fears.

I don�t think I recognized the value of TC until I hadn�t done it in a couple of months. I felt like I needed it, to talk about my fears, my triumphs and my frustrations.

I went to my final two classes today with Prof. Calder�n and Profe Mac�as, two of my favorite professors here.

I�ve been doing a lot of reflection, not just about the past year, but also about the past 4 years. They�ve been great, they really have. I feel truly blessed.

Postscript: in case you�re wondering, things with Dom are better. I guess it was just one of those bumps you come to in any relationship, long distance or not. I still feel a little sad that he can�t come to my graduation, but I understand that getting fired would not be a good thing (especially when he just got a sweet promotion).

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: irresponsible
Escuchando: "Sweetness," Jimmy Eat World

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star