susto en la ma�ana
03.07.03 // 6:45 p.m.

"Drive safe, mi'ja. There's a lot of traffic this morning."

I said goodbye to my mother right before she left to the school where she works and gave a kiss to my dad as he faxed some paperwork. I usually don't think much of their common words, but lately this has been on my mind and I've been extra cautious.

Perhaps, my mom knew that something might happen this morning. Was it her mother's intuition that sensed that I'd come within a few yards of ...? well I don't know what could have happened, I just know it would not have been good.

The susto this morning came after about three miles on the freeway. I decided in the night that I didn't want to go back to the apartment and would just spend the night at the parent's. Normally, traffic is heavier heading west towards the city, but I left 15 minutes after 9, so traffic was moving along at a good speed.

As I neared the interchange to the 605 freeway I noticed some smoke and a big rig in the middle lane up ahead spin out to the left. I was driving along in the fast lane at about 75. I could see that the cab was going to end up in my lane and wouldn't leave enough room for me to swerve around. It was either stop, hit the truck, or hit the median.

I can't tell you how many feet I was away from the truck. It all happened so quick. The truck spun out without hitting any other cars or trucks (a miracle in itself). I stepped on the breaks, not too hard at first and then really hard when I saw that I didn't have enough room to come to a complete stop. I remember thinking, 'I'm going to hit it!' and then, determined not to, 'shit, I'm not going to get in another accident!!' I came to a complete stop less than five yards from the cab of the truck.

I checked my rear view mirror and noticed that the nearest car several yards behind me had slowed/halted as had the rest of traffic in the left three lanes. I put on my hazard lights, made the sign of the cross, said a prayer of gratitude, looked around to make sure others had avoided a collision, and took a few deep breath. In this time, the trucker wheeled the truck out 90 degrees in the correct direction. I continued on my way to work, very shaken up.

I couldn't help from crying because of the susto. I called my dad as soon as I found my phone which had flown out of it's place at the sudden stop. I needed someone to get me back to reality and ground me.

He reminded me to give thanks to God, and I did. In fact, I did it several times today. I kept thinking of "what ifs." What if I had been a little distracted at that second? What if my brakes had failed? What if a car behind me had been tail gating and couldn't stop with enough time?

I know it doesn't make sense to think of the "what ifs," but I can't help it. I come to work, and there are several more reminders of Cindy R. and her death. I got more details about the accident that took her life and the services. I still don't know if I'll attend the mass up north on Friday evening, but I will be at the memorial service on campus in white as her family requested. It'll be a celebration of her life.

Drive safely y cuidanse.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: lucky & blessed
Escuchando: talib kweli, quality

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star