it's good to be here
09.01.04 // 11:55 p.m.

I�m home.

It feels different, but that�s because it is different. In the 23 days that I was gone, my mom added some decorations to the living room, a new member of the family was added (a puppy who still doesn�t have a set name), my grandparents left to Tijuana, and Lori got in a car accident and the Stratus (not mine, Danny�s) is in the shop.

In many ways, things haven�t changed. It�s still hot. Everyone is still busy with work and school. It�s all rush, rush, rush here. So different from the last 23 days.

I miss my primos, t�as, y t�os. I want my family to speak more Spanish so I don�t lose all that I picked up.

But I�m glad to be back.


The last few days in el DF were pretty good. I forgot to mention that on Friday, the first place I visited with Fabiola was el Palacio de Bellas Artes. We checked out the murals there, as well as the Frida Kahlo exhibition.

Saturday was devoted to Chapultepec. What I liked most of the hill of the grasshoppers was the David Alfaro Siqueiros mural on the Porfiriato and the Mexican Revolution in one of the rooms. I looked at it slowly and then went back again. On my trip I got to see murals by all of los Tres Grandes of Mexican muralism.

Sunday was devoted to Teotihuac�n. I think I�ll have to reserve my comments, reactions, feelings about this for a whole other entry. However, the Place of the Gods was amazing.

Monday I got the chance to finally hear my cousin sing. I spent the afternoon with her at the Conservatorio Nacional in the more upscale Colonia Polanco. I think this deserves its own entry too. Mexican musicians... yum. Oh yeah, and my cousin the soprano can really sing, even in German.

Tuesday (my 24th birthday!), I woke up to a four cupcakes arranged in a square with 4 candles. I didn�t make a wish when I blew them out, I couldn�t really think of one. I finished packing, exchanged some dollars for more pesos and did a little more gift shopping. I don�t like the Metro much. I keep thinking of the Caf� Tacuba song� it really is that crowded. However, I love the icons they have for the different stops. I was hoping I�d see some street vendor with t-shirts of the icons and the corresponding names (Z�calo, Hidalgo, Chabacano, etc),

My flight was at 5, and even though I got there to the airport a little after 3 I was still really worried about not making my flight on time because the check-in line was hella long. But, AeroM�xico let all flight 644 folks cut in front to check-in around 4 pm.

The flight back was pretty uneventful. I got a window seat like I always do because I love aerial views. While I wasn�t watching Shrek 2, I was checking out the view and I have never been so glad to see Southern California in all of it�s urban sprawl. I didn�t have any problems getting through Customs and Immigration � unlike the return from Canada last year.

And then, well I saw my siblings, first Danny and Lori, then Adrian once we got home, met the new puppy and saw my parents a little later.

My birthday lasted 2 hours longer, in two countries, and I got some nice gifts on both sides of the border. The best part of it: just being home again and seeing the family. I miss M�xico, but nothing beats being home, even if it is incredibly hot out.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: i got a bump on my head, it hurts a little
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star