don't drink & drive
04.03.03 // 5:28 p.m.

The first was just a few days ago, but I sort of wish it was today, because then what Ralph called and told me this morning might have not been true. Maybe he could've just followed with the horrible news and said, "April Fools!" I would've just chastised him and hung up the phone a bit annoyed with him because you really shouldn't joke about such things. But, it wasn't a joke... and Cindy R. really was killed last night by a drunk driver.

Cindy R. is another one of my tocayas. She's one of those strong Pilipinas or Pinays who takes on leadership positions and does a lot with them. The year before I was on council, she ran with the same coalition I did and became the financial supports commissioner. Then when I was on council, we appointed her to be on the board of directors for the student union. She was also a counselor with the pilipino equivalent of the program I work for.

Whenever I used to see her, we'd always get a kick out of the fact that we shared names. Usually, she'd go by Cynthia if I was around. When I ran for student government she was really supportive of me and the other candidates, making sure we knew the survival tactics. I still would see her around the office these days...

The office today is not a fun place to be. Lots of students are crying and they even met with a grief counselor at noon. It's all so sudden, so tragic.

I was walking through the hall and Jen, my advisor, told me that some people thought it was ne when they first heard the news. Rose, another one of the directors, said the same thing. I wish it wasn't any Cindy... or anyone for that matter.

Later, Adeste (a student who used to work with Cindy R. and currently works in the office) came by and was looking for the lyrics to Sarah McLachlan's "Angel." He didn't know the melody of the verses, and I said I did. "Can you sing it?" he asked. I did... but not without crying after the first couple of lines.

Descanse en paz, Cindy R.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: saddened
Escuchando: cpu fan

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star