Rationale for procrastination
06.13.02 // 5:29 a.m.

I realized the real reason that I�m drawing out my finishing this paper. It has nothing to do with the fact that I�m a hopeless procrastinator. I don�t even start my papers some time until after they are due. Yes, I know I am a horrible student, but it really doesn�t show up in my grades, except for those pesky B�s I get (grrrr).

So, what�s the real reason I�m putting myself through one last undergraduate all nighters? Its not because it�s the only time I�m awake before 10 am. Nor does it have anything to do with my bed being uncomfortable. The true reason is because I want to savor my LAST assignment during these years as an undergraduate. Is that so horrible?

In my subconscious I know that as soon as I finish up the extra credit essay, hit print, hike up all the way to Bunche Hall, take the elevator to the second floor, step into the main office of the Ch�vez Center, ask Elena to timestamp it for me, and turn it into Profe Mac�as�s box I will be DONE!

That�s it. No more Chicana/o Studies, Spanish or Sociology classes. No more falling asleep in lecture halls. No more cramming for the midterm exam. No more sleeping in and missing classes. The finality of it is what gets to me the most.

And that, my friends, is the real reason why I am writing another entry rather than defining micro-agressions, critical race theory, critical praxis and other theoretical jargon.

Gee, I�m even convincing myself!

Oh yeah, and I wish I could watch the M�xico vs. Italy game. They�re going to kick some Italian ass (I just realized Dominic might not like this comment *snicker*). They got to, �cause I say so. Hey, look 1-0 at the half with M�xico leading. And they�re singing �Cielito Lindo� in the stadium. Ay, ay, ay, ay! Canta y no llores, por que cantando se alegran cielito lindo los corazones�� I got a question, how do all these Mexicans get to Oita, Japan? Must be from the �fresa� or rich class.

Vane: since when are you a soccer fan?

Me: since M�xico qualified for the World Cup. Oh yeah, and didn�t you know that soccer is the most anti-American sport you can get?

Vane: says who?

Me: Aaron McGruder. I need to show you a strip from 2 years back where he called soccer the sport loved by American hating people worldwide.

Vane: you�re a dork.

Me: I know, but my mom loves me anyway.



�Gooooooooool! Gracias a Jared Borghetti, assist Cuauht�moc Blanco.



Why do I suddenly want to break out in song to el venao, el venao and dance quebradita style?



Sombreros, more fun head gear. I'd hate to be sitting behind these folks, I wouldn't see shit!

Comments: 3 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: excited about the game!
Escuchando: The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star