peace...
10.31.02 // 9:21 p.m.

Peace to Will and his family. I pray for your cousin and your family as you deal with your loss.

Peace to Monsignor O. I rushed home yesterday to make it to the rosario (vigil mass). I couldn't even sing "Amazing Grace" which we always sang when Fr. O presided over 6:30 mass during the weekdays. I knew that if I sang, I would cry, and I really didn't want to do that. I guess I'm more comfortable grieving in private. And I still haven't let myself grieve over his death. I feel like part of my Catholicism died along with Fr. O or something. I don't know... I know things will be much different without him at SJV, but I just can't really imagine life in the Heights without him there. Danny and I walked up together to say our "see you laters" at the casket. Danny shook his hand firmly and made sure to meet his eyes, something he always advised people to do.

I think this death is hitting me harder than I expected because I'm going through this period in my life where I'm feeling more and more alienated from the Church. I only go most of the time and half participate because I'm not ready to stand up to my parents when they bug me about going. And when I went, I seemed to encounter Fr. O's powerful homilies which called out people like me.

The nice thing about these types of events is that I see all kinds of people I haven't seen in a few years. One, Melissa M. just had a baby with another guy my age who used to be active in the youth group. Melissa also told me I looked good, which was nice. Then I saw friends' parents and other folks who all want to know how/what I'm doing and if I have a boyfriend... they mean well I guess.

Peace to Jam Master Jay of Run DMC. They were on campus a few years ago, and I remember walking by but not being able to go the free concert because I had to prepare for RYC. I just spent a few minutes reading an email Dom forwarded from Davey D about how disturbing his murder is for everyone who is a fan of hip hop, but also for the black community (and other communities of color too...) in which violence is way too common. Do we not value life? He mentioned how everyone he knows has known someone who was killed violently. Hey, I can say that's true for me. I grew up with this kid Mike who was Danny's age. I think at about 15 Mike was gunned down at the 7 Eleven less than a mile away.

Jay's like King Midas, as I was told,
everything that he touched turned to gold.
He's the greatest of the great, get it straight he's great.
Claim fame cause his name is known in every state.
His name is Jay to see him play will make you say:
"God damn, that DJ made my day!"
-- From "Peter Piper"

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: sweet (too much sugar!)
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star