learning curves
10.08.04 // 2:51 p.m.

Hey, you want to know something? Graduate school is hard. Well, it�s not really the reading and the classes. So far, that has been okay. I only have class two days a week, but each of the three classes lasts 4 hours each. I don�t know if I can really handle sitting in class that long, but I know my professors � at least 2 out of 3 of them � are trying their best to ensure that they use the time wisely.

So, classes aren�t too tough. The tough thing is work. It�s not even the hours, but the type of work. I feel like I�m hearing them speak in another language, but I know it�s English. I work at a research institute that conducts large-scale longitudinal surveys of college student and professor attitudes at hundreds of American surveys. As a �research analyst� I�m expected to help come up with the questions to these surveys and then do the statistical analyses of the data.

As you may or may not know, I am a big fan of statistics, but I�m rusty. I�m enrolled in a statistics class right now, but we�re learning to use a different program than the one used at work. I won�t use the other program until next quarter, in a more advanced stats class.

Right now, I�m supposed to be working on a proposal for a conference. My advisor (director of the center) just informed me of this yesterday. What the hell do I know about proposals? Damn� this is a hella steep learning curve.

The good thing about working at the research center is that there are a handful of older, more experienced graduate students who are more than willing to help me out. Also, I don�t have to work on that proposal by myself.

Still� I feel a bit overwhelmed. I can do this�


In other news, I felt absolutely giddy Tuesday night as I watched the Minnesota Twins beat the New York Yankees in game one of the AL division series.

[On an unrelated note, I felt sick to my stomach as I watched both the Tuesday and Thursday games in which the St. Louis Cardinals deflated all the hopes and dreams of the Dodgers and their loyal fans. Game 3 will be good. It better be.]

I�m no Twins fan, but I really want to see them go far. It�s all because of their extremely talented and handsome ace, Johan Santana. I think I have a fetish for Venezuelan baseball players. I added him to my list along with Cesar Izturis, Dodger shortstop, and Ugueth Urbina, Detroit Tigers closer.

Wouldn�t you want to see more of this man? Damn�


Pitching another strike.


He better win the Cy Young Award.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: okay
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star