apartment 3 adventures
10.07.04 // 12:55 a.m.

Sometimes, I feel like my apartment is converted to the soundstage of a sitcom� with the bad jokes and without the laugh track. Some examples:

A few weeks ago, on a Saturday morning I told Isa that we should watch Ma Vie en Rose, a film in French. At the time, I was reading the newspaper and she was chatting or doing something on her computer. I suggested watching the movie because it was a little too quiet in the apartment and I wanted some background noise.

"Wait," I told her after thinking about my suggestion, "we can't watch Ma Vie en Rose because you have to pay attention to it."

"Yeah," Isa replied. "It's in French, and you'd have to read the subtitles."

"I know French!"

"No, you know how to French," she shot back.

(Insert laugh track here.)

On Monday night, we had a pizza and Scrabble night. Pato joined us as we spelled out words. Isa decided to make a nickname of a nickname. Pato became Patois.

"It sounds French," she said.

"You know, it is a language, or dialect. I think it's from the Caribbean," I said.

"We should make all our names French," Isa continued as Pato looked at her letters trying to figure out what she wanted to put on the board.

"So what would Isa be?" Pato asked?

"I think she'd be Isois," I answered.

"And Cindy?" Pato asked again.

"Cindique!" Isa suggested.

Uh, no. That sounds horrible.

(Insert laugh track here.)

I was perusing the okayplayer.com boards a week ago when I came upon a funny post with about 300 replies. The subject: "describe your d--k/p-sy with a movie title" (just tried to avoid disturbing google hits). Many of the posts were by guys who used titles like Anacondas, As Good as it Gets and The Professional to describe their pieces as huge.

The ones by women were kinda funny as well. I read some of the replies to Isa and then we decided to pick movie titles for our own girlie parts. I threw out Maria Full of Grace and Clueless for myself. Isa? She chose Whale Rider.

(Insert laugh track here.)

This one isn't really funny, but more random roommate conversation.

On Wednesday after the orientation, Isa accompanied me to the new graduate student reception. We went for the free food and drinks. While we were munching on tacos and grapes, she called Jon to come and join us since he was on campus for a GRE class.

Currently, Jon and Isa are broken up but they still hang out. I've known him for a long time since I met him back when things started with them during our second year.

For the 15 minutes or so that we hung out, we had fun

Yesterday morning Isa asks, "Do you know what Jon said?"

"No, what did he say?"

"Well, we were just hanging out and all of a sudden he says, 'you know, Cindy's a nice girl, why doesn't she have a boyfriend?' I told him you had something with some guy who lived in _______. He was like, 'oh yeah, she doesn't like guys who live in LA.'"

I like Jon. He rocks, and he's right. I'm too fly to be flying solo.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: tipsy
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star