4 percent
10.31.04 // 4:24 p.m.

Hi,

I didn't forget you existed. I've just been really busy lately. There are a thousand things I want to write, but don't want to write here.

I'll say one thing. I went to a conference at USC on access to higher education for Latinos, a topic I am very interested in as you might already know. A lot of what was presented were things I already knew, but one thing really struck me.

It's about the pipeline for Latino students in California. 100 students begin the 9th grade. On average, 57 graduate high school. 31 of those will go on to higher education (but most will be in a 2-year community college). 14 of those students will earn a college degree after 6 years (both AA and BA). However, only 4 of those 100 students will have a Bachelor's degree.

Who knows about the number who will have an advanced or professional degree, it might be 1 or less than 1 of that 100.

It was sobering, but motivating in some way. I have my work cut out for me, as do my peers who are teaching and working with youth and working for the betterment of our communities.

Paz,
Cindy

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: tired
Escuchando: weekend becomes eclectic on kcrw

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star