it's true, i've become a skeptic
10.18.04 // 9:14 p.m.

The opening paragraph in the personal statement that got me into every school I applied to:

I entered UCLA in 1998 as part of a historic class; the first to fall under the University of California Regents� ban on affirmative action in admissions practices. Despite attending one of the best public schools in Los Angeles County�s San Gabriel Valley, I still worried about making a successful transition to UCLA since I was the first in my family to attend a four-year college. At the time, I was unaware that I was one of approximately 400 first-year Chicana/o and Latina/o students. Early on, I identified a crucial factor I needed in order to succeed: a sense of community. With such low numbers of entering Chicana/o and Latina/o students, as well as faculty and administrators, I knew I had to take proactive measures to combat feelings of alienation. In my first year, I took the first step to retaining myself by immersing myself in student groups and community service. I found what I expected; a supportive community and a sense of belonging.

It's weird to look at it now that I am in graduate school.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: meh
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star