lottery winners on acid
10.14.04 // 8:31 p.m.

Edit: it's really not my birthday today, I only said it because when I went to write this entry the time was 8:31 p.m,, the date of my birthday, August 31st. Thanks for the well wishes!

Hey, look! It's my birthday, well if you look at the time.

Anyway, I just sent off my part of a proposal to present a paper at a conference. I'm working on it with a second year student. She's doing most of the statistical stuff along with Victor.

I realized earlier how men I get along really well with men named Victor. This newest Victor in my life is a 4th year graduate student in my program. He's from Texas, married, and pretty cool. I feel like he's kind of taken me under his wing and shown me the ropes at the Research Institute where we both work.

According to him, I'm way ahead of the curve when it comes to this kind of stuff. Apparently, it's pretty rare for a first year student who has only two weeks on the job to be writing proposals to present a national conferences. He and and a post-doc who completed my program in the spring said that they never presented at conferences as first year PhD students. Well, the proposal has to be accepted first before I get to present. Eek.

I'm not just getting my feet wet when it comes to work, I'm jumping in... from the high dive.


In other news, as I was driving to campus today I listened to Morning Becomes Eclectic on KCRW I heard a song called Lottery Winners on Acid that I really liked. I've heard it before, but this time it just made me really happy. The whole set actually made me happy. The idea of walking through streets being high and elated at winning the lottery just makes me smile.

If she get a black eye I want a black eye,
if she get a splinter I want a splinter too.
If she get arrested I want arrested,
if she go tripping I go falling over.

We walk through the street like lottery winners on acid,
everything she say I was thinking anyway.
We walk through the street like lottery winners on acid,
everything she say I was thinking anyway.

Comments: 5 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: cool
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star