city of angels' music
10.01.04 // 2:41 p.m.

This week's Los Angeles Insight, courtesy of LA Blogs. I like their subjects, music, driving, travel. It's great.

1. What's the best venue in Los Angeles for live music, and why?
I really enjoy the House of Blues in Hollywood. I like that it's small enough to see the band's setlist. I also like to dance at concers more than anything, so the area at HOB works well for me.

2. What's the worst?
Personally, it's the Universal Amphitheatre. The music sounds muffled, I don't like being confined to my seat and it's too big to truly enjoy the music live.

3. Where do you go most often to catch a gig, and how often?
I think I've gone to the HOB most. I've probably gone 2-3 times a year for the past 3 years or so.

4. What L.A. band, DJ or performer would you walk over burning hot coals to hear?
I don't know if there is any LA band or DJ I'd do that for. However, Ozomatli comes pretty close, as does Garth Trinidad.

5. What's that playing on your MP3 player/car stereo, home audio system or tinny computer speakers right now?
I was listening to a Maroon 5 sampler CD earlier, but switched it because I wanted to listen to Modest Mouse's Good News for People Who Love Bad News.

6. Who's the most overrated musical act in Los Angeles?
Shrug. I think a lot of the big pop acts are overrated, but I can't name a single one!

7. Who's the most brilliant?
Ozomatli, Quetzal, and Los Lobos are brilliant.

8. Who are the three greatest Los Angeles bands/DJs/musicians of the past 50 years - and why?
The last 50 years?! Damn... I'll have to get back to this one. Wait... I thought of a couple. Los Lobos because of their longevity, originality and their facility in both bluesy rock in English and traditional songs in Spanish. I love the message too. Tupac Shakur would have to be one too... I'm not sure why, but I know it's something about his influence in hip hop. Last, Ritchie Valens. Even though he died young, his influence on Chicana/o youth and music lived on way after his death.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: fine
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star