can california secede?
11.03.04 // 9:43 p.m.

I'm tired of this, and scared too. I feel like telling little Hannah (friend's two week old daughter) sorry because the country she will inherit is going to be really fucked up.

I'm scared that my brothers and cousins (male and female) will be drafted and will die in an unjust war at disproportionate rates for Chican@s/Latin@s as we did in Vietnam. I'm scared that immigration reform won't happen and that thousands of undocumented students who have lived here almost all their lives and had no say in the decision to come here ("legally" or not) will struggle to go on to higher education because of the high cost of non-resident tuition.

I feel like the modest gains made since the '60s are being rolled back.

If I really believed in the system we had right now, I'd be really crushed, but I don't. I'm just moderately crushed right now. I'm just tired of feeling this way after every election that I can remember. I wonder what it feels like to have your candidate or your ballot initiative pass? (Actually, I have been happy with some results, but I'm usually pretty grim).

The director of the office where I used to work was convinced Bush would be re-elected (appointed?). He made the arguement that if Bush could steal the election when he wasn't in office and didn't have the power, it would be even easier to do it now that he does have the power. Tim ain't never lied. Don't you hate those people who are always right?

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: horrible
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star