anomie
11.17.04 // 11:57 p.m.

When L told me, it all clicked. It made sense why D looked so incredibly tired, pale, and just plain sad. When I ran into D, it was different, not like he was working on a proposal, eval or studying for the LSAT. I joked about it, but he didn't tell me.

And then, in the meeting L mentioned how things were crazy around the office, considering what was going on with ___ (student group). You don't know? she asked, almost in a whisper.

No.

Then she told me. He was gone, the ex co-president of one of the biggest student groups on campus. Former member of the student committee I answered to on a weekly basis.

Wow... no one tells me anything.

Well, they're not really talking about it.

It made sense. I've never seen D look so out of it. And even as we discussed Durkheim in class, I didn't want to think about how theory was truly applying to reality in this case.

I tried not to think about it all day, not until I returned to the SAC. I waslked to the elevator, and across the bridge, I saw K. She looked paler than usual.

What are you up to? I asked her.

A piece for the paper on Steven.

Are you going to the memorial service?

Yeah, when is it?

Monday.

Okay, I'll be there.

It's still way too real, and unfortunately it's not just a theory.

Rest in Peace, Steven.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: numb
Escuchando: kcrw

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star