nerdiness abounds
11.14.04 // 10:11 p.m.

I just got back from Las Vegas. Honestly, I think I enjoyed the place a lot more when I wasn't old enough to lose my hard earned cash, er gamble. However, it was still fun to hang out with my friends in Sin City... even when we were getting on each other's nerves. For some pictures, check here.

Since I'm a graduate student, and we're getting into the final few weeks of the quarter, I knew I couldn't waste the weekend. I packed my books. When I arrived, I did some studying and on Saturday I worked on my statistics take home midterm. Yes, I know, I'm a nerd. But want to know how much more of a nerd I am? I started to take notes at the nickel (high roller!) slot machines to keep track of how often I won and how much I won. For every ten spins, I won an average of 2.25 times. I need to figure out the standard deviation though.

Wait, why am I telling you this? What happened in Vegas, stays there.

Oh yeah, more nerdiness for you, I found this email when I returned, it made me happy:

K, E and Cindy,

Your presentation was fabulous!!! I am really impressed with the whole event. You had a great and informative PowerPoint presentation, you each were smooth and (seemingly) comfortable with your presenting role, and your exercise was not only interesting and fun but from other students' reflections it was a terrific success! My hat is off to you.

C'ya
[Prof] P.

Honestly, I didn't think I did that well, but it was on student college choice and suddenly the topic is very interesting. Also, my group happened to be presenting on 2 articles that the professor either wrote or co-authored. Wouldn't you be nervous if you had to critique your own professor's work?

I will post my own story on how I got to UCLA very soon.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: tired, but good
Escuchando: tijuana no "golpes bajos"

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star