No fireworks
07.04.02 // 8:18 p.m.

Normally, I could care less about this date. You can ask any of my friends and family and find out that I am about as far from being patriotic as I can be. I cringe at the sight of red, white and blue flags attached to overgrown SUVs and at sales commemorating Independence Day. I think fireworks are beautiful, especially the shows put together by professional pyrotechnics. However, anything else seems like a dangerous waste of money.

I see today kind of like I see Columbus Day. I see it more as a way to recognize all those people who did not become free and independent on July 4, 1776.

I was reading Castigada's most recent entry earlier after I had already watched the news report on the shooting that left three people dead at LAX, including the gunman. Then I heard about a plane crashing somewhere, but knew very little about the story until Matt, an EMT and friend of Yo's, stopped by my parent's house. He told us about what he saw earlier this afternoon in San Dimas where a Cesna plane crashed into the shore onto children as they played.

I shuddered when he told me that two children were trapped beneath the plane and lifeguards were bloodied as they pulled people out. Matt talked about the lack of sensitivity on the part of the news crews that showed up to cover the story. Matt will probably show up in some newspaper or on the nightly news as he and his fellow EMTs worked.

I wonder if we've become desensitized to such tragedies. We see it all the time, maybe less when it is so nearby. Why was there more news coverage about the LAX shooting than about the tragedy at the lake when the latter was so much more devastating and involved many children.

I pray for all those who lost their lives today, for those who are battling for their lives and for the families of those victims.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: well fed
Escuchando: Rufio's "In my eyes"

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star