nochebuena
12.25.03 // 4:18 p.m.


Pastorcitos al monte venid... Danny, Me, Ernie, Eric, and Cristina

Christmas has always been a big deal in my family. Maybe we don't give each other dozens of gifts, but we make up for it in our traditions. Everything was always so festive, and it never felt stressful. We'd set up the nacimiento (nativity scene) like you see in the picture above. We still have most of the figurines and ceramic houses you see in the photo above. My parents hand-painted the houses and characters in the nacimiento. Along with the nativity scene, my mom puts up a "Santa's village" with about a dozen houses. Of course, we have the tree and the lights outside too. If all these things aren't up and the whole house is decorated, it doesn't quite feel like Christmas.

I love this aspect of Christmas, the tradition. I like seeing the faces of the little kids in the family when Santa Claus comes in through the front door. My mom's family has been doing this since the mid '80s. We'd all gather together (usually at my house), eat dinner (tamales!), play Christmas themed games (perhaps a pi�ata), do the posadas, pray the rosary, and then Santa would come. Santa is always played by one of the grown males in the family. We actually own a Santa suit. It used to be my Pap� Chepe, but lately it's been an uncle or cousin. Santa brings just one gift for every child at the party. The reason my family did this was simple, they didn't want any of the kids to feel like shit when they saw their cousins who were better off getting twice as many presents (and cooler ones at that). So, it was a way to even things out. All the kids got one present from Santa, sometimes even the adults got things too. After Santa leaves, we attack the rest of the presents. It's a bit chaotic, but it's always great.

After the party, most of the family would leave. The next day, we'd relax, clean up, open whatever presents were left, go to Mass, and then head over to East LA to visit my grandparents and dad's side of the family.

This is where things have changed. Grandpa died in 1996. The last time I saw him was Nochebuena (Christmas Eve). Four days later he passed away. I don't really have pleasant memories of seeing my Grandpa dying. Grandma died in January 2000. The last time I saw her? Christmas day, in the hospital too, but she was awake and glad to see us. I miss them, a lot.

Christmas is different as an adult. The house is still nicely decorate. Presents are wrapped and ready to go. My cards have been sent. I got a (mandatory) vacation from work. It's okay, but I'm not sure I like it as much. It just feels incomplete and I'm still struggling to adapt. Everything changes, whether you like it or not.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: bored
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star