learning nahuatl
03.18.03 // 2:08 p.m.

Ne'huatl notocan Citlalli
In Citlalli cuacualtzin*

Guess what I'm learning? Nahuatl, the language of the Mexica people, and also the language that lots of other Udo-Aztecan indigenous languages are based on (sort of like how all the romance languages are based on Latin).

Anyway, Ralph (Ome's boyfriend) bought an instructional book for children. I already know several words, but now I'm learning how to use pronouns, conjugate verbs, and even a few phrases, like "my name is" and "good morning."

About a million and half people in M�xico still speak this beautiful language (more on M�xico's indigenous languages can be found here) and many words of it were taken and adopted into the Spanish language, some were even adopted into English. Take avocado as an example. Avocado comes from aguacate which was derived from ahuacatl. Another example, the word for jaguar in Nahuatl is ocelotl, ever heard of an ocelot? I love this language, I need to go and learn more, get back to my real roots.

[Translation:*Me llamo Estrella/My name is Star
La Estrella es bonita/The star is beautiful]

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: productive
Escuchando: some afrobeat music out of my advisor's office

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star