morbid thoughts
03.13.03 // 6:50 p.m.

Do you ever imagine your own funeral? I wonder sometimes if I'm the only person who does this. I tend to imagine this more when someone in my family passes away or when I go to a funeral.

On Saturday, my great uncle passed away. He's my Mam� Toni's younger brother, but I was never close to him. Still, it's saddening to hear about a relative passing on because it makes me that much more fearful that the only grandparents I have left have only a limited amount of time left. Last night, I went to the Rosario and saw a bunch of extended family I don't really know.

Anyway, back to imagining your own funeral, do you ever think if it would be more a celebration of your life or mourning your death? Perhaps it differs depending on the circumstances of your death. Or maybe there are cultural and religious differences too.

I've gone to funerals where there wasn't a single person dressed in black. In fact, the only time I ever really saw that was on television. My own grandfather told my mother that he wants joyous songs to be sung at his funeral. My family is also very Catholic, so I think that has something to do with our view on death. For example, when my Grandpa died, he felt he was ready to die and move on to the afterlife. He's in a better place now without all the pain.

When I think of my own death, I don't think it'll be so far off in the future. For some odd reason, I think that I'm going to die young. I've thought of who I want to attend the services, what songs will be sung and which priest will preside over the services.

Am I strange?

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: exhausted
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star