Copa Mundial Craze
06.14.02 // 9:56 p.m.

Damn, this is so tough, who do I cheer for? Really. Okay, if you knew me any better you would have absolutely no doubt that I am rooting for M�xico on Sunday night?s game (11:30 pst) against the US.

M�xico has to win. It can serve as some sort of retribution for all the shit the US has put them through even before the Mexican American war in the mid-19th century. I?m so serious. I think soccer is a healthy way (in most cases) to express those feelings of anger and rivalry that spring up between citizens of different countries.

Porfirio D�az, a Mexican dictator in the early 1900s, once said something like ?poor M�xico, so far from God and so close to the United States.? The only reason I know that is because Ana Castillo uses the quote as her title in So Far From God. He could not have been more right. If you know anything about history, you know that Americans have exploited the hell out of M�xico, and it doesn?t help. Then there?s the way they treated those who became ?Americans? after the signing of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo and the border moved. Yeah, Mexicans didn?t cross the border, the border crossed us.

So, you can bet we?re going to cheer for the team from the motherland. Yeah, this is going to rock.

In non-Copa Mundial news, I think I?m done with school. But, I know why I don?t have a sense of finality and closure that I should. I wanted to turn in the extra credit paper for the Chicana/o Studies 101 final, but I didn?t have time to finish it. I still am not sure whether I should do it or not. It?s just a 2-4 page paper comparing stuff, and I?m pretty sure Profe Mac�as will still accept it.

Postscript: it?s Friday of final?s week and no bad news yet! Damn, I?m so superstitious about bad things happening in threes.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: like I might have just accomplished something huge
Escuchando: "Orange Moon" by Erykad Badu, and more Mama's Gun

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star