of pow wows and conferences
05.01.04 // 4:24 p.m.

Okay, it's a good thing I'm typing all this out rather than picking up a pen and putting on paper. I�d get hand cramps.


I went to the pow wow today hosted by the American Indian Students Association. I only went for a little while. I need to return and convince myself to not spend too much. I always find so many beautiful beaded bracelets and necklaces, embroidered blouses, embroidered bags and tapestries. Oh yes, and the dancers and drum groups are amazing as well.


I also woke up bright and early to go to the statewide conference hosted by my favorite MEChA chapter. I haven�t been to one since the spring 2001 conference at UC Riverside. After that, I think I just took myself out of the external sphere of the organization for a few reasons. The primary one was that I was frustrated with the way my peers were running things. It�s long and complicated, and not appropriate blog fodder, but suffice it to say that some people in the organization (not at my campus) are wack.

Oh yes, and I really can't stand people who hate on us for doing what we're supposed to be doing.


Nahui sent me a few pictures from when I visited her out in Michigan. Are we not the cutest?
Me & Nahui
Jazmin, Me & Nahui
Three Chicanas and one Vietnamese boy


My roommates have been getting on my nerves lately. It�s for stupid things too, and I'm too nice to actually say something.

The first thing that bugs me is Ome parking in my space. When I get home and find her car there it just bugs me. I only have to go in and ask her to move it, but it's the principle of the matter. The reason I pay more for rent is because I have a bigger room and I have my own spot that I don�t have to rotate (the other two do).

The second reason is that one or both hasn�t been doing her job of cleaning up after herself. We used to rotate on who would wash the dishes, no matter who made the mess. It worked okay, but I started getting annoyed that I was cleaning up a lot of stuff that I didn�t even do (I don�t cook too much). I suggested that we change our system. Each one cleans up after herself.

For a little while, it worked better since the dishes weren�t always cluttering the sink. It hasn�t been like that for a few weeks now. I still wash and clean up after myself, but someone isn�t doing her part and the pile is getting huge. I finally broke down and washed some dishes and utensils so I could put my food on something and not have to eat it with my hands.

Last, I arrived yesterday and ran to the bathroom only to find that the roll of toilet paper was empty. I ran to the closet and got another one. The thing that really bugs me is: why couldn't who ever used up the last roll do the same thing? It takes two seconds! Again, it's the principle. That is just plain rude!


Since I'm anti-roommate these days, I've been considering moving out. I didn't come up with the idea. Yesterday I got a call from the counselor over at the school of ed. She let me know that they could offer me housing in the new housing units for single graduate students. I could live in a studio or with a roommate.

I calculated the cost, and it would still be more expensive than what I live in now. Still... I think the change would be good. I might even meet some new folks and be in an environment where I'll be more studious. I haven't made my decision just yet.


Happy May Day! Support workers' rights!

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: worn out
Escuchando: "si estuvieras aqu�" por los amigos invisibles

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star