sunshine of my life
05.27.05 // 7:50 p.m.

The kid has great taste

You see that kid?

She happens to be my ahijada/god-daughter and favorite cousin (named Valerie, I have to add some qualifier or the others will get jealous).

Well dressed grandfather

When she was born 10 years ago on this day, I was instantly enamored. I had a new cousin. She was small and cute and had these gorgeous huge eyes that she's still growing into.

She had all sorts of Winnie the Pooh baby stuff. For some reason, I became Pooh and she was Piglet. From then on, our special bond was sealed.

I used to go through withdrawal when weeks would pass and I hadn't seen her. I'd make my mom take me to Ontario or go with my grandparents when they would go visit. I had a bunch of pictures of her I'd carry everywhere with me.

Everyone knew I was obsessed with the kid.

My siblings -- who loved Valerie as much as I did -- even thought I was weird. Before she could even talk, I used to make up stories about things she "told" me.

"Adrian, Valerie told me that your hair looks really funny like that."

"Quit making up stuff. Why are you so weird?"

"But she did!"

"Whatever."

Pooh and Piglet

Valerie grew up. And by 'up' I do, indeed, mean up. The kid is tall just like her sisters, Nancy and Vanessa. Se estir�. She was a chunky baby, but became a really skinny girl.

She reminds me a lot of me. She's a little quiet and shy until she feels comfortable around you. She likes baseball. She wants to go to UCLA. And she likes to read.

Sunshine

In November, 2002, right after Thanksgiving my parents and siblings left me. Mom, Dad and Lori went to a wedding in Northern Calfiornia. Danny and Adrian went somewhere, maybe snow boarding, and I stayed home to study. I went to Ontario to take the girls and my cousin Rene to see Monsters, Inc. On the way to the movie theater, I had the radio playing.

The song? Stevie Wonder's "You are the sunshine of my life." As I sang along, I told Valerie, "Hey Val, I dedicate this song to you, because you are the sunshine of my life." She didn't say anything. I glanced in the rear view mirror and saw a puzzled look on her face. Maybe she didn't care or just thought I was a little strange.

We saw the movie, enjoyed it, and then returned to the girls' house. For some reason, Valerie was acting up and being a bit bratty. I scolded her and told her she was getting on my nerves.

"I can't bug you. Remember, I'm the sunshine of your life," she reminded me.

Yeah, I remembered. How could I forget?

The Sunshine of my Life

Ten years old... wow.

�Feliz cumplea�os, Val!

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: indecisive
Escuchando: silence... it's golden

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star