million dollar question
05.19.05 // 1:32 a.m.

"So, that brings me to the million dollar question, why don't you have a boyfriend?" Matt asked innocently.

The wheels in my head started spinning. I could either snap at Matt or just answer the question with one of my usual replies.

I get this question often enough - usually from men - that I've got a cache of ready answers. So, how did I answer Matt?

(a) The guy I really care for only wants to be friends.
(b) The guy I'm seeing doesn't want anything serious.
(c) It's hard to meet guys when you spend most of your time in Moore Hall. Women far outnumber men there and the men who are there are married or gay or see (a).
(d) I'm an elitist snob.
(e) I don't like Mexican men and they don't like me.
(f) The cool guys don't live in LA.
(g) I'm too damn busy for guys.
(h) Why do you give a fuck?

Matt and I are cool. We're friends and I didn't want to be mean to him. Thus I went with the easy answer. (g) I'm too damn busy for guys, followed up with a little of (c) the gender ratio in the school of education really sucks.

He followed up my question with some affirming statements, part of the reason I get along with him so well (aside from the fact that he's a fellow Bruin and buys me food).

"Well, I would think you'd get approached pretty often," he told me.

"No, and if guys did approach me I wouldn't know what the hell to do. I'm so bad in those situations" I confessed.

I don't know what happened at the end of that conversation. I think we decided two things: we need to go to lunch (he owes me) as soon as the quarter ends and we're no longer sleep-deprived zombies; and I need to go tailgate with him at the Rose Bowl during football season.

Comments: 15 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: ambivalent
Escuchando: the mix dave made for me

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star