when you get old, people die
05.17.04 // 8:25 p.m.

Last night, I was staring at my copy of Borderlands sitting on my bookshelf and I thought to myself that it's one of the books that I need to finish reading, cover to cover.

This morning, I got a half-dozen emails just like this and it saddened me. Que descanse en paz.

Internationally recognized cultural theorist and creative writer, Gloria Evangelina Anzald�a, passed away on May 15 from diabetes-related complications. She was 61 years old. A versatile author, Anzald�a published poetry, theoretical essays, short stories, autobiographical narratives, interviews, children's books, and multigenre anthologies. As one of the first openly lesbian Chicana authors, Anzald�a played a major role in redefining contemporary Chicano/a and lesbian/queer identities. And as editor or co-editor of three multicultural anthologies, Anzald�a has also played a vital role in developing an inclusionary feminist movement.

Anzald�a is best known for Borderlands/La Frontera: The New Mestiza (1987), a hybrid collection of poetry and prose which was named one of the 100 Best Books of the Century by both Hungry Mind Review and Utne Reader.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: somber
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star